Jump to maincontent

World Heritage in Norway

The first places in Norway to achieve World Heritage status were Bryggen in Bergen, and Urnes stave church, both of which were entered in 1979. The mining town of Røros was included on the list of World Heritage Sites in 1980.

Tentative list

A Tentative List is an inventory of those properties which each State Party intends to consider for nomination. On UNESCO's web site you can study which properties that are on the Norwegian tentative list

UNESCO in Norway

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs is in charge of Norwegian foreign affairs, including UNESCO activities. Co-ordination of UNESCO initiatives in Norway is managed by the Ministry of Education and Research. This ministry is also in charge of implementing the Education and Sciences Programmes in Norway. The Ministry of Culture is responsible for UNESCO´s Culture and Communication programmes, while the Ministry of Government Administration, Reform and Church Affairs handles questions concerning indigenous people. The Ministry of Environment is responsible for all environmental matters in UNESCO, and for implementing the World Heritage Convention in Norway.

While the ministries are responsible for Norway’s official UNESCO policy, the Norwegian National Commission for UNESCO, consisting of 12 representatives from the civil society, forms a linkage between the civil society and Norwegian authorities. 

(Source: UNESCO Norway)

World Heritage Norway

World Heritage Norway is the name of the organisation representing all the eight sites, and the four points on Struve’s Geodetic Arc, which are inscribed on the UNESCO list of cultural and natural heritage sites. 

World Heritage Norway was founded in 2007. Read more about World Heritage Norway. 

Learn more about World Heritage

Directorate for Cultural Heritage

Directorate for Cultural Heritage

Directorate for Cultural Heritage about World Heritage in Norway.

Museum24:Portal - 2024.06.11
Grunnstilsett-versjon: 1